×

ALA资源

如果你有问题,请通过发送电子邮件至 support@ala.edu 让我们知道。谢谢您!

工作时间

周一至周五 上午8:00 - 下午5:00
周六 - 上午9:00-12:00M
周日只接受预约!

忘了你的资料?

欢迎大家

我们有许多选择来帮助你实现你的英语语言目标。我们提供各种课程以满足你的需要。 在校园 或网上。

我们的承诺。最佳价值和最佳质量的英语作为第二语言的教育

伊拉克中心

2013年,美国语言学院(ALA)在伊拉克库尔德斯坦的杜胡克市启动了其第一个国际教学项目。一个ALA教学团队应邀为杜胡克大学(UoD)的部分毕业生提供为期六个月的英语强化课程。

这些毕业生有资格申请库尔德斯坦地区政府人力发展计划的奖学金,他们的目标是前往英语国家继续深造,主要是在研究生阶段,同时丰富他们的跨文化意识。为了获得出国旅行的全部资格,候选人必须通过并毕业于由ALA准备的语言课程,并在国际语言测试系统中成功取得至少5分的成绩,即所谓的雅思考试。该项目非常成功,在90名参与的学生中,有86人从该项目中毕业,66%的学生在两(2)周后的雅思考试中取得了5分。这是一个远远高于该地区其他英语语言项目的成功率,在这些项目中,只有百分之二十二(22%)或更少的学生获得类似的分数。

在项目即将结束时,奖学金委员会做出了一项行政决定,将所要求的雅思成绩修改为4.5分。这使得ALA的成功率进一步提高,该项目中百分之九十(90%)的奖学金候选人在雅思考试中获得了4.5分。向ALA团队表示祝贺!

为杜霍克创建的教学模式反映了所有美国语言协会分支机构使用的模式。换句话说,课程以教学为中心,整合了四大语言技能:读、写、听、说。此外,杜霍克的课程是围绕着建构主义学习理论进行的,定期实施交际语言教学法和任务型教学法。所有的教学都以学习者为中心,而不是以教师为中心,这促进了学生在学习过程中的参与。对学生来说,参与这种教学方式是一种新的和具有挑战性的经历,但他们从该项目中获得了更多的自信和自尊,这种自信和自尊来自于课堂上以学生为中心的教学。

六(6)个月的教学期分为三(3)期,每期八(8)周。每天上课四小时,每周上课五天。综合技能的教学是每天都要进行的,尽管应大学的要求,写作和词汇的发展在杜霍克项目中得到了特别强调。教学内容包括五(5)个连续的英语级别,学生应通过三(3)节课中的两(2)节,其中一节是最后一节。提供补充教学机会,以便为学生的语言能力做最好的准备。这些机会包括。

  • 对课内和课外作业进行差异化教学。
  • 针对低年级学生的课后特别辅导,每周召开两次。
  • 举行学生-教师会议,向学生提供关于其工作的详细反馈。
  • 使用英语学习网站English Central,该网站被广泛用于课内活动和学生个人练习。
  • 每天提供一小时的公开课,给老师和学生额外的界面时间进行语言练习。
  • 一个名为 "英语之夜 "的特别晚间活动在星期二晚上举行。这旨在提供一些活动,如观看英语电影,听取关于美国教育系统的介绍,讨论有争议的话题,用英语创作短剧以及其他以语言和文化为中心的活动。

在成功完成该项目后,奖学金候选人获得了由ALA项目主任、UoD培训和发展主任以及科学和学术事务副主席签署的毕业证书。学生对该计划的反应总体上非常积极,特别是考虑到他们参加该计划后获得的雅思成绩。

美国语言学院很荣幸也很高兴被邀请到库尔德斯坦,为UoD的毕业生提供密集的英语教学。参加活动的ALA教师为他们的学生付出了极大的努力,教师和学生的努力成果都体现在雅思成绩上。老师们也非常珍惜在库尔德斯坦期间所经历的跨文化交流,并对在库尔德斯坦的日子留下了美好的回忆。当杜霍克大学下次需要他们的服务时,ALA的教师们已经准备好返回。

课程类型:六个月的英语强化课程,为学生在英语国家继续学术研究做准备。

  • 计划的地点。伊拉克,库尔德斯坦,杜霍克
  • 计划的日期。2013年2月10日-8月5日
  • 项目主任和教师姓名:哈立德-易卜拉欣,项目主任;查理-威尔逊,艾普尔-哈奇森,约翰-T-康纳斯。
顶端

×

MyALA

ALA resources

If you have problems, please let us know by sending an email to support@ala.edu. Thank you!

Hours of operation

Mon-Fri 8:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat - 9:00AM-12:00M
Sundays by appointment only!

Iraq Center

Intensive English Language Training

In 2013 American Language Academy (ALA) launched its first international teaching program in the city of Duhok, in Kurdistan, Iraq. An ALA teaching team was invited to provide a six-month intensive English language program to selected graduates of the University of Duhok (UoD).

The graduates were eligible candidates for the Kurdistan Regional Government Human Capacity Development Program scholarship, and their goal was to travel to English-speaking nations to further their education, principally at the graduate level, while enriching their cross-cultural awareness. To fully qualify for the travel abroad, the candidates had to pass and graduate from the language program prepared by ALA and successfully score at least a 5 on the International Language Test System, better known as the IELTS examination. The program was highly successful, as eighty-six (86) out of ninety participating students graduated from the program, and sixty-six percent (66%) of the students scored a 5 on the IELTS exam taken two (2) weeks later. This is a far higher rate of success than other English language programs in the area, where only twenty-two percent (22%) or fewer of the students earned a comparable score.

Toward the end of the program an executive decision was made by the scholarship committee to modify the required IELTS score to 4.5. This raised the ALA success percentage even higher, as ninety percent (90%) of the scholarship candidates in the program earned a 4.5 on the IELTS exam. Congratulations to the ALA team!

The model of instruction created for Duhok mirrored that which is used in all ALA branches. In other words, classes centered around instruction which integrated the four major language skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. Also, the Duhok classes were built around constructivist learning theory, with regular implementation of the Communicative Language Teaching approach and the Task-Based Teaching approach. All instruction was learner-centered rather than teacher-centered, which promoted the students’ engagement in the learning process. Participating in this style of teaching was a new and challenging experience for the students, who nevertheless took away from the program an enhanced sense of self-confidence and self-esteem which grew from the student-oriented focus in the classroom.

The six (6) month teaching period was divided into three (3) sessions of eight (8) weeks each. Classes occurred four hours (4) hours daily, five (5) days a week. Teaching integrated skills was a daily occurrence, though writing and vocabulary development did receive special emphasis for the Duhok program, at the request of the university. Instruction was offered for five (5) sequential levels of English, and students were expected to pass two (2) of the three (3) sessions taught, one of which was required to be the final session. Supplemental instruction opportunities were offered to best prepare the students for language competency. These included:

  • Differentiated instruction for both in-class and out-of-class work;
  • After-class special tutoring aimed at lower level students which convened twice weekly;
  • Student-teacher conferences where detailed feedback was given to the student on his work;
  • Use of the English language learning website English Central, which was used extensively for in-class activities and for individual student practice;
  • A one hour (1) daily open session was provided which gave the teacher and student additional interface time for language practice;
  • A special evening program entitled “English Night” was held on Tuesday evenings. This was designed to offer activities such as viewing English language films, listening to presentations on the American education system, discussing controversial topics, creating skits in English and other language- and culture-centered events.

Upon successful completion of the program the scholarship candidates received a certificate of graduation signed by the ALA program director, the UoD director of Training and Development and by the Vice President of Scientific and Academic Affairs. Student response to the program was very positive overall, especially in light of the IELTS scores resulting from their having participated in this program.

American Language Academy was honored and delighted to be invited to Kurdistan to provide intensive English language instruction to the UoD graduates. The ALA teachers who participated worked very hard for their students, and the results of both teachers’ and students’ efforts are reflected in the IELTS scores. The teachers also cherished the intercultural exchanges they experienced while in the country and have wonderful memories of their time in Kurdistan. The ALA faculty are ready to return to the University of Duhok when their services are next requested.

Type of program: six month intensive English course preparing students for continuing academic studies in English-speaking countries.

  • Location of program: Duhok, Kurdistan, Iraq
  • Date(s) of program: February 10-August 5, 2013
  • Name(s) of program director and instructor(s): Khalid Ibrahim, program director; Charlie Wilson, April Hutchison, John T. Connors
  • ALA’s CEA accreditation is not currently applicable to this program.
TOP