×

ALA资源

如果你有问题,请通过发送电子邮件至 support@ala.edu 让我们知道。谢谢您!

工作时间

周一至周五 上午8:00 - 下午5:00
周六 - 上午9:00-12:00M
周日只接受预约!

忘了你的资料?

一般问题

ALA是一所严格的英语语言学校,总部设在美丽的北卡罗来纳州格林斯博罗的中心。校园位于七(7)所学院和大学的中心位置,这使得它在学生生活方面处于理想的位置。我们获得了联邦政府(DHS)的许可,可以招收非移民的外国学生,因此可以签发学生签证的I-20。它的核心重点是通过提供各种课程,从强化英语教学到夏令营,为学生在学院/大学学业上的成功和更好的生活做好准备。

ALA为兼职和全日制(18小时/周)的学生提供课程。短期课程的长度从三周到六周不等,例如为国际高中生举办的夏季语言营和为年龄较大的国际学生举办的文化学院。全日制英语强化班通常从三(3)个月到一年不等。我们的全日制班在课程方面有明确的规定,专门为进入大学的学生设计学术英语。完成我们课程的学生已做好充分准备,将有很高的成功率获得大学课程的录取。这些课程强调英语的交流使用、学术技能(阅读理解和写作)和文化导向。

ALA的课程是为经过仔细筛选的、认真的、有纪律的学生设计的。所有全日制学生每周至少接受二十二(22)个小时的接触教学。核心课程分六个级别,每天授课(周一至周五)。此外,在整个课程中还会有文化充实讲座和实地考察。大多数学生每周花四(4)个小时学习,练习沟通技巧,并做课外作业。我们还鼓励他们参加共同课外活动,如音乐会、讲座、体育赛事,以及到市内各地的地方名胜实地考察。深入了解和沉浸于美国的学术和社会生活是ALA项目的一个重要特点。

ALA的教师都受过专业培训,拥有TESOL或其他专业密切相关领域的硕士学位,并有教授 "英语作为第二语言 "或适合其课程任务的科目的工作经验。他们都很有爱心,曾经学习过其他语言,在国外旅行、生活和/或教课,非常熟悉学生在新文化环境中面临的挑战。

我们欢迎来自世界各国的各种性别、年龄、种族和宗教的学生。ALA的一些学生是已经在美国参加课程的本科生或研究生,他们希望在文化上更有能力,在语言上更精通。但他们中的大多数是准备在美国上大学或回国从事更好工作的国际人士。一些专业人士也因个人和职业原因报名参加短期专业课程,以提高他们的语言能力。我们也有针对高中生群体的暑期课程。

ALA与它的学院和大学网络合作,给予我们的申请人有条件录取通知书(CLA)*。这意味着,报名参加ALA学术英语课程的学生将获得CLA,在成功完成我们的学术英语课程5级后,他们将被免除托福成绩要求。根据他们的位置,他们可能会被直接录取到学院/大学。我们有优秀的学生服务人员,他们将在大学选择和录取过程中协助和指导我们的学生。

* 学生必须满足各大学对国际学生的所有其他入学要求。

计划在ALA学习的学术合格的学生可以被选定的ALA附属学院/大学有条件地录取。在满足大学/学院录取标准中规定的条件后,学生可被录取为正式学生。有些大学要求学生提交申请表、以前学习的正式成绩单、财务文件,也许还有推荐信,而其他大学只需要审查正式成绩单就可以决定是否有条件录取学生。在所有情况下,学生必须成功完成ALA的学术英语5级课程,并在iTEP(ALA使用的标准化测试)中取得可接受的分数。

这是一个示例文本。你可以点击它进行内联编辑,或者打开元素选项来访问这个元素的其他选项。

你将购买一份健康保险并得到保障

是的,我们的工作人员将帮助你转到你选择的学院和大学。

符合条件的学生可以在1月、3月、5月、8月或10月每期开学时开始学习(见课程日历页)。我们也有灵活的延迟注册选项。全日制学术英语课程的申请者必须提交以下材料。

  1. 填写好的ALA申请表格
  2. 中学或高中、英语学校或大学成绩单的正式复印件;
    一份正式的财务报表,表明申请人或担保人有足够的资源用于整个学习时间。
  3. 300美元不可退还的申请费。
  4. 他们的护照复印件
  5. 两张5厘米×5厘米的照片

具体问题

被ALA录取的学生会收到有关前往学校的信息包,以及ALA学生服务人员的电话号码。这个信息包将帮助他们为赴美旅行做好准备。请学生尽快将他们的抵达信息发送给ALA,以便做出适当的住宿安排。ALA通过安排免费机场接机和在酒店过夜或在家庭中短期住宿来帮助抵达的学生。

我们建议学生在注册日之前至少七(7)天到ALA报到。注册日期在学生的I-20表格上注明。所有学生都需要参加迎新会,其中包括:分级测试、注册、保险登记、学校规则和程序介绍。

是的。ALA确实向个别学生提供数量有限的奖学金和其他财政援助计划。如果美国语言学院有学术奖学金,它们也是非常有限的,而且是在高度竞争的基础上颁发。有关此类奖学金的询问,应由学生个人直接向招生办公室提出。

所有学费应在注册的第一天支付。在随录取通知书邮寄I-20时,需要支付百分之十(10%)的押金。这笔押金将在注册时计入学费。建议使用支票、银行电汇或由美国银行签发的旅行支票。学生应预计每学期花费约250美元用于与学校有关的个人开支。ALA的工作人员将协助那些想在抵达后开设银行账户的学生。

顶端

×

MyALA

ALA resources

If you have problems, please let us know by sending an email to support@ala.edu. Thank you!

Hours of operation

Mon-Fri 8:00AM - 5:00PM
Sat - 9:00AM-12:00M
Sundays by appointment only!

General Questions

ALA is a rigorous English Language school headquartered in the center of beautiful Greensboro, North Carolina. The campus is centrally located to seven (7) colleges and universities which makes it ideally situated for student life. We are licensed by the federal government (DHS) to enroll non immigrating foreign students and can therefore can issue the I-20 for student visa. Its core focus is to prepare its students for success in College/University academics and better living by offering various courses ranging from intensive English instruction to summer camps.

ALA has classes for both part-time and full-time (18 hours/wk) students. Short-term classes can range from three-week to six-week long, such as summer language camps for international high school students and Cultural Institute for older international students. Full-time intensive English classes usually range from three (3) months to one year. Our full time classes are well-defined in terms of curricula specifically designed English for Academic Purposes for university-bound students. Students completing our curricula are well prepared and will have a high success rate gaining acceptance to university programs. They emphasize communicative use of English, academic skills (reading comprehension & writing) and cultural orientation.

ALA’s programs are designed for carefully-screened, serious, and disciplined students. All full-time students receive a minimum of twenty-two (22) hours of contact instruction per week. Core classes are taught in six levels on a daily basis (M-F). In addition, cultural enrichment lectures and field trips occur throughout the sessions. Most students spend four (4) additional hours per week studying, practicing communication skills, and doing out-of-class assignments. They are also encouraged to participate in co-curricular activities such as concerts, lectures, sports events, and field trips to local places of interest that are available around the city. In-depth orientation to and immersion in academic and social life in the U.S. is an important feature of ALA’s programs.

ALA’s teachers are professionally trained with Master's degrees in TESOL or other majors closely related field and with the work experience in teaching "English as a Second Language" or subjects appropriate to their course assignments. They are all caring and have studied other languages, traveled, lived and/or taught classes abroad and are very familiar with the challenges which students face in new cultural milieus.

Students of all genders, ages, races, and religions are welcome from countries around the world. Some ALA’s students are undergraduate or graduate who are already attending programs in the U.S. and who wish to be more culturally competent and linguistically proficient. But the majority of them are internationals preparing to attend colleges and universities in the U.S or return home to better jobs. Some professionals also enroll in short specialty courses to improve their language proficiency for personal and career reasons. We also have summer programs for high school groups.

ALA is partnering with its network of colleges & universities that grant our applicants Conditional Letter of Acceptance (CLA)*. This means that students who enroll in ALA’s Academic English Program receive a CLA and upon successful completion of our Academic English course level 5, they will have the TOEFL score requirement waived. Depending on their placement, they may be admitted straight into the college/university. We have an excellent Student Services staff that will assist and counsel our students in the university selection and admission process.

* Student must meet all other requirements for international students for admission by the respective university.

Academically qualified students planning to study at ALA may be admitted conditionally to a select group of ALA affiliated colleges/universities. Upon meeting the conditions as specified in the university's/college admission standards, a student may be admitted as a regular student. Some universities require that students submit application forms, official transcripts from previous study, documentation on finances, and perhaps letters of recommendation while others only need to review official transcripts to decide on conditional admissibility of students. In all cases, students must successfully complete ALA's Academic English level 5 curriculum with an acceptable score on iTEP, the standardized test that ALA uses.

]We offer small classes so that our teachers can monitor student progress and give individual attention to each student's language skills. The average class size is 10-15 students.

Upon arrival, all students are interviewed and tested in listening, speaking, reading, and writing in order to determine their level of English language proficiency. Each student is assigned to a course level appropriate for their proficiency. During the term, students are continually evaluated on the basis of their class attendance, preparation, out-of-class assignments, and quiz results. Each student's progress, as well as attendance record, is reported by instructors frequently. Immediate action is taken by the director if an instructor's report indicates that a student needs help or counseling. We also keep the student's family or financial sponsor informed of the student's progress. This is done with a written progress report by the student’s teacher.

Yes. Currently, there are two housing options available to students who enroll at ALA: 1) American family home-stay arrangements and 2) independent apartment living. Carefully-selected American family home-stays are available to all applicants who are interested and give sufficient advance notice when applying. Independent housing assistance is available through our Student Services Office. Applicants must make at least 12-week advance reservations for housing assistance.

Medical care or counseling is available to all students through community health facilities. Students are referred to private doctors or hospitals and professional counselors when there is a need. The ALA director and staff receive reports from teachers on students needing medical or personal attention and talk with students to see what kind of help is needed. All students are required to have medical insurance. Students can either enroll in the ALA medical insurance plan upon arrival or use their own policy.

Yes. ALA Students Services Office provides assistance for selecting and applying to appropriate colleges and universities. Also personal counseling from our faculty and staff help students find appropriate places to study after graduating from ALA. We have excellent resources to help place students at the university that is best for them.

Qualified students may begin study in January, March, May, August, or October at the start of each session (see the course calendar page). We also have late registration options available that are flexible.Applicants for the full-time English for Academics Program must submit the following:

  1. A completed ALA Application form
  2. An official copy of a Secondary or High school, English Language School or university transcript;
    An official financial statement showing that the applicant or sponsor has sufficient resources for the full length of time enrolled for study
  3. A $300 non-refundable application fee.
  4. A copy of their passport
  5. Two 5cm x 5cm pictures

Specific Questions

Students who are accepted by ALA receive information packets about travel to the school, as well as telephone numbers for ALA Student Services staff. This information packet will help prepare them for their travel to the US. Students are asked to send their arrival information to ALA as soon as possible so that appropriate accommodation arrangements can be made. ALA assists arriving students by arranging free airport pickup and overnight stay at hotels or short-term home-stays with families.

We recommend students report to ALA at least seven (7) days prior to the day of registration. The registration date is specified on students' I-20 forms. All students will need to participate in an orientation session that will include: placement testing, registration, insurance sign-up, introductions to school rules & procedures.

Yes. ALA does provide a limited number of scholarships and other financial aid plans to individual students. If and when academic scholarships exist at American Language Academy, they are very limited and are awarded on a highly competitive basis. Inquiries regarding such scholarships should be sent by the individual student directly to the Admissions Office.

Under U.S. immigration law, it is illegal for a student who enters the United States with an F-1 visa to do any work for payment during the first year of study. Other legal restrictions apply thereafter, and it can be very difficult for an international student to find work while studying in the United States. Limited on-campus work-study employment may be available to help with pocket expenses.

All tuition fees are due on the first day of registration. A ten percent (10%) deposit is required when the I-20 is mailed with the acceptance letter. This deposit is then applied to tuition at the time of registration. Checks, bank wire drafts, or traveler's checks drawn on a U.S. bank are recommended. Students should expect to spend about $250 for school related personal expenses each term. ALA staff will assist students who want to open bank accounts upon arrival.

TOP